Strike, ball or bad reading of the referee? Michael Conforto and the controversy at the Mets-Marlins game

    Strike, ball or bad reading of the referee? Michael Conforto and the controversy at the Mets-Marlins game

    Social networks were flooded with comments about the party of the Miami Marlins Y New York Mets on the afternoon of this Thursday, where a ball hit Michael Comfort It cost the troop of the city of the sun the defeat, but, said pitching, was it a strike, a ball or a misreading of the referee? Let’s see:

    The New York Mets defeated the Miami Marlins on the afternoon of this Thursday, leaving on the blackboard the second victory of the season for the New Yorkers, while the ninth of the Peces refuses the decision to obtain a sixth defeat at the beginning of the season of MLB… but, a play has been much discussed since then … Michael Comfort!!!

    The match between Mets against the Marlins was tied until the ninth inning with a score of 2-2, resolved that after being on a two strike count with a ball in turn, Michael Comfort was hit, reaching the first pad while Luis Gillorme entered the plate with the third scored by the Mets, leaving the Marlins on the ground with a final score of 3-2 in the game.

    Michael Comfort was hit by the pitcher of the Marlins, Anthony Bass, where apparently the batter for the Mets he “ate” one of the corners of the plate, bringing his elbow to the interference zone, while the referees, after submitting the play to review, once again ratified said pitch as a pitch, while sports fans refuse to accept the decision of the players. referees, many appealing to how the play is visualized in a video clip and what the rules of the game dictate. MLB according to these situations.

    Rule 6.08 (b) of the MLB rulebook dictates the following about these plays:

    He is touched by a pitch which he has not attempted to hit, unless (1) the ball is in the strike zone when it touches the batter; or (2) the batter makes no attempt to avoid being touched by the ball;

    If the ball is in the strike zone when it touches the batter, a strike will be called, regardless of whether or not the batter tries to avoid the ball. If the ball is outside the strike zone when it touches the batter, it will be called a “ball” if he makes no attempt to avoid being touched.

    Video about the controversial play:

    The game finally did not end with the best spirits of both sides, where after the Mets take the victory with a score of 3-2, the own Michael Comfort He proceeded to “admit” that he moved his elbow during the shift at a press conference, this while trying to adjust to a slider pitch by Anthony Bass of the Marlins.

    The truth is that the populous state-of-the-art statistics system of MLB, Statcats, It clearly visualizes how the pitch was within the strike zone, although finally the game referees ended the game in a nefarious or accurate way, it can no longer be erased.

    Strike, ball or bad reading of the referee? Michael Conforto and the controversy at the Mets-Marlins game

    What do you think? Should that pitch have been called as a strike or was it a hit? Bad referee reading?

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *